Bon Jovi

 

Image

I thought I’d start out my blog with my all time favourite band. Bon Jovi. I’ve been listening to Bon Jovi since I was 13 and was the first band I ever went crazy about. Bon Jovi has meant many things to me, their music has inspired me in many ways as a performer, composer and overall musician. In fact, the majority of learning of the guitar was from watching live videos of Richie Sambora playing Bon Jovi concerts. 

Album: These Days

My favourite album has to be These Days. The reason I recommend this album above all the others is because it isn’t expressed as being the best album because it has the most hits, in fact not many of their hits came from this album. I enjoy this album the most because of it’s writing style, lyrical content and overall production sound. The mix on each song is amazingly well balanced and effects added work perfectly to compliment the songs. A few notable songs are: 
Hey God, This Ain’t a Love Song, Hard Letting You Go, and My Guitar Lies Bleeding in My Arms. These are the songs that best high light the overall sound of the album and I hope you agree that these songs sound fantastic.

Spotify Link to album – http://t.co/pGO7WUnaOM

Song: Dry County

My all time favourite song by Bon Jovi (and possibly all time) is Dry County from the Keep the Faith album. This is the longest song by Bon Jovi being the length of 9:52. This song is a very personal song to me it is a song about inspiration and escapism. The overall mix might not be fantastic so generally the reason I love this song so much is the lyrical content and musical composition. When I heard this song live in 2011 at Hard Rock Calling Festival, I swear I nearly cried. I shouldn’t leave out that Dry County also has probably one of the greatest guitar solos of all time by Richie. 

Link to full length song on Spotify – http://t.co/ZJeUWfWpfZ
Link to shorter single version on Youtube – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Ja1aHnj7Wk

Leave a Reply

